Worms for Breakfast

I remember as a teenager sleeping until about noon, as many teenagers do. Actually, there were many days I didn’t quite make noon but that was always the goal. Of course I was always up until the wee hours of the morning to require me to sleep so late.

 

On one occasion my father said, “You know, the early bird gets the worm”. To which I replied, “That’s okay, he can have them… I don’t like worms.”

 

So I think of that a lot now and how things have changed. I’m not sure if I was wired to be a morning person or rewired myself. That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy sleeping in on the weekends. But my sleeping in these days is nothing compared to my teenage years. I’m usually up by 7:00 or 8:00 a.m. on the weekends, if not before. My working days however, require my alarm to go off at 5:30. Some days I’m even awake prior to my alarm going off. And even though at times it’s hard to get out of bed, especially in the dark, it doesn’t take me long to wake up when I do extricate myself from the warmth of my bed.

 

Now that I’m focused on winter training in the gym I’ve made a deal with myself: If I’m awake in time to make early morning spin at 5:45 then I’ll go. If not, I’ll just go to the evening session. (But if I do go to early morning spin I won’t skip the evening class – I just do double sessions.) I was in the habit of hitting a few morning spin classes prior to my vacation the week of Thanksgiving. Lately I can’t seem to get out of bed when my alarm goes off to save my life, let alone getting up early to go to spin class.

 

This morning was a little different. Since it’s the day before Christmas the gym is closing early, which means no spin class tonight. So I wanted to get the workout done this morning. I set my alarm for 4:30 and got up soon after it went off. That gave me time enough for one cup off coffee, gather my things and go to the gym to run a bit on the treadmill before class. Then of course after class I felt like a million bucks – wide awake, full of energy and ready to face the day.

 

Some people, like my friend for instance, just can’t seem to find the energy in the morning. They are more of the night owl type and have much better workouts in the evening because that’s when they find their energy. I can do either but if I work out too late at night it keeps me up too late from the adrenaline. Once in a while I suggest early morning spin to her but I know she won’t go – it’s just too early for her.

 

At my gym there must be a fair number of early birds because the spin classes are packed, with not one spare bike to be had. That also means that it’s wise to arrive at the gym 30-minutes prior to the start of class to sign up and select your bike. This doesn’t include mention of all the people on treadmills, elliptical trainers, stair steppers. It’s is a hub of activity at 5:00 a.m. as I’m sure most gyms are.

 

So Dad, if you are listening, I just want you to know that I had my recommended daily allowance of worms today!

2 responses to “Worms for Breakfast

  1. What time do you go to bed at night? I now keep a similar schedule, but not by choice. My son is a little rooster and is up by 5:30 or 6 daily. I won’t get him from his crib til 6–because no one wants to deal with me before then–even my kid 🙂 And then you work out at that hour???? How? I average about 5-6 hours of sleep nightly and it’s not enough, but I can’t seem to get to bed before 11.

  2. I’d love to be in bed by 9 – 9:30 every night but I never seem to make it. Seems it’s more like 10 – 10:30. I think a lot of that is from riding, too. By the time I get home from group rides or the gym it’s late. Then I need to eat, catch up on my internet stuff, hang out with my husband (poor guy – so supportive even though he hardly sees me because of my cyling) then get ready for the next day.

    I can see that with a little one in your life it’s probably your only quiet time of the day to decompress. That’s really important!

    I couldn’t function on 5 to 6 hours of sleep a night but I can manage on 7, and once in a while 6, but not on a regular basis. I also find the more I work out the better I can function on 7 hours, as opposed to a solid 8 or 9 that I used to need before I became insane about biking.

    Working out at 5 or 5:30 in the morning can be tough. Sometimes it takes a while to get the sleep out of the eyes. But it’s more about making up my mind to do something and then making it happen. I’m quite determined, some might say stubborn, in that regard.

    Merry Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

