Roadie

There are plenty of books out there about cycling. However, I doubt non are as entertaining as this book appears to be. It’s Roadie: The Misunderstood World of a Bike Racer Entertains Roadies and Educates the Non-Racer. Ever since I saw this book on Jamie’s blog I’ve been intrigued with it. As I check his blog on a regular basis I kept looking at the book and was reminded of the release date (March 28th) and I wondered, how many more days is that?

I don’t think I’ve anticipated the release of anything so much as I have this book since Rufus Wainwright’s Want Two album. I wasn’t disappointed with Rufus’ follow up album to the revered Want One and I doubt I’ll be disappointed with Roadie. And yes, I’ve reserved my copy on Amazon already.

Ever since I became enamored with cycling in the spring of 2006 I can’t seem to get enough of this bike culture stuff, from the gear and the hottest knew products to following the pro races and riders.

I remember being at the tennis courts with my husband a few years back. A group of cyclists were known to roll through and on one occasion I just stopped to watch them ride by, my eyes followed the pack in awe. It’s odd to think that I am now one of them and I wonder how many of my club members were in that group.

So many times on a group ride we roll by walkers on the well used walking path around Baxter Boulevard and I catch the same look on the faces of people on the path. I always smile to myself. It truly can be an impressive site. In fact a local comedian by the name of Bob Marley joked on a local radio program that the Tour de France rolled through when he was out on the Boulevard. HA! Now that’s the closest I’ll get to ever riding the Tour de France.

Leave a Reply

