A Weekend of Good/Bad Eating

I can’t remember the last time I ate out so much in such a short period of time, without being away on vacation.

Friday for lunch I joined a friend to eat a great little place just up the road from my office called Grill 233. I was going to have a salad but when I heard the special soup was chicken gumbo I decided on a cup of it. I wanted to keep lunch light as I knew I was going to dinner that night with my husband and friends.

Dinner consisted of Mexican food and margaritas, followed by some really delicious ice wine and lava caked with ice cream that was topped with orange cello at our friends’ home. Yummy!!

The Mexican restaurant, called Fajita Grill, is one of the best ones in the area – great authentic food at reasonable prices. It’s no wonder the place was packed! It has a great family atmosphere where you don’t have to worry about being too loud because the place is abuzz with activity and good cheer. It’s a fun place and comes highly recommended. But don’t just take my word for it, Chris2fer also has the same opinion here.

Saturday night was dinner with another group of friends and they like Chinese food so we went to Stir Crazy in Scarborough. Stir Crazy offers some of the best Chinese food I’ve ever had. Once again, the price is very reasonable. It’s becoming one of our favorite places. We always order spring rolls and crab rangoon. I should have just stopped there. I ordered a meal of which I didn’t eat much because after the appetizers, and egg drop soup that accompanied my meal, I was pretty stuffed.

I also tried plum wine. My friend ordered it and so I did as well. Outstanding! It’s a bit on the heavy/rich side and my husband compared it to port – that sweet. It made for a good sipping wine so I nursed the one glass all evening, which was good after the potent margaritas from the night before. (I had two and 1/2 way through the second one I realized I should have stopped at one.)

It’s now time to get back on the bandwagon with eating healthy. I ate far too much wheat and corn and it’s going to take a while to shed the effects of it. But it was a nice splurge!

Leave a Reply

