No Regrets

I woke up before my alarm this morning with the hope of commuting by bike today. I listened to the local weather forecast and it was predicted to be raining by “late afternoon/early evening”, which is my commute time. So I decided to bag the ride to work.

I drank a little coffee, checked my email, and then listened to the full weather report. The weather gal said showers in the area around 6 or 7pm. That’s not late afternoon! But it was too late to plan the ride in, or so I thought.

I’ve had too many days where I have regretted not riding the bike to work. I decided today was not going to be one of them!

As I was in the shower I was planning my attire. If I kept it simple to use my messenger bag instead of dealing with the panniers, did minimal stuff with my makeup and hair, I would probably have enough time to get to work by bike. That also meant that I’d have to ride a little fast and I wouldn’t be there quite as early as I normally would be, but it shouldn’t cause me to be late.

So that’s exactly what I did. I rushed a bit but it worked out well. It was warm enough that I didn’t have to layer too much so I wouldn’t have more stuff to carry on my way home. What I wore in would be sufficient enough for the cool morning commute and wearing it home wouldn’t be too hot. (Not that it matters if I sweat more on the way home.) I did pack a light rain jacket because it’s possible that will be needed for the commute home.

As it turns out I made pretty good time and wasn’t nearly as “late” as I thought I was going to be.

Driving to work is so much easier. Riding to work is so much more enjoyable. I’ll have no regrets today!

Leave a Reply

