May is a Month for Biking

May is a busy bike month for me.

First, it’s National Bike Month. National Bike Month also includes Commute Another Way Week, which ends with Bike to Work Day on the 16th.

I typically bike to work 2-3 days a week anyway so far this season and this week I’ll be biking in every day. With the time change of the group rides from 5:30 to 6pm I have plenty of time to bike home casually and still make the group rides.

Secondly, this month was the start of the Women’s Only Ride that I’ve chosen to start and lead this summer. We’ve had a lot of interest and this ride should grow in popularity throughout the summer months.

Thirdly, it’s time for the first of the Grand Tours – the Giro d’Italia started Saturday. This will keep me glued to my computer for updates on the stages. Well, at least when I’m not out riding myself.

Finally, the first big ride of the season will take place on Memorial Day. The club will ride a few notches in the White Mountains for a total of about 85 miles.

Last year was my first year participating, and I’m really looking forward to it this year. Though my friend is a bit concerned about the lack of miles we’ve ridden so we might not be properly “prepared” for it. Even though I think we’ll be fine, I’m starting to agree with her. Not so much that we can’t ride the distance but it’s probably best not to ride it at a snail’s pace. It’s time to pack on some longer, faster miles in preparation for it.

Tonight was the CCCP Monday Night Ride. I had a chance to play with my new camera a bit. This is  Julie (one of our favorite spin instructors), Tracey and Jim, who all spin in the off season. Obviously Julie didn’t know she was being filmed. I look forward to the reaction from her when she sees this video:

Then I was able to catch a few other riders as they chatted prior to the ride. The pre-ride social is always fun.

I need to remember not to speak when recording video!

One response to “May is a Month for Biking

  1. Dana – of course I knew I was on film – that’s why I was posing – the camera loves me.

    I’ll get you.

Leave a Reply

