Weekend Recap

What started out as good intentions to keep my blog up to date over the weekend, went right out the window. Not only is my own blogging suffering, but my reading of other blogs is also behind. That’s what happens when you have so much going on. So I’ll just give you a nice recap here:

Thursday

Ahh, the Cervelo Test Ride event. I can be summed up in one word: WOW!

Dave, the regional sales rep, was awesome and really explained the differences between the bikes I wanted to try.

IMG_4583

He explained that the RS, which I tried first, had a bit different handling style than the Soloist. He was right. One guy actually described it as “squirrelly”. I described it as twitchy. (Even a racer I was speaking to later after the event said he felt the same way about the bike.) Between those descriptions I’m sure you get the point. Given the group riding I do, I decided it really wasn’t the bike for me.

Then it was on to the Soloist Carbon. Ahhh, this was the bike. I didn’t want to get off it. I was very impressed, not only with the vibration dampening but with the way it seemed to float up any climb. (This is the bike that the women I mentioned from the Trek rides.)

IMG_4600

Then I ended up trying the Soloist Team. Now, this is like trying a really fine wine followed by a cheaper wine. What’s the point? But I must say, when I returned, I said, “It’s not horrible.” That sounds funny to think about and I guess I thought it would be a far inferior bike compared to the Soloist Carbon but it actually rode quite nicely. There were obviously differences in the dampening vibrations but it wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. A great bike indeed.

IMG_4610

After the test ride it was on to join friends after the Thursday Night Ride for drinks at a new beer pub called Novare Res. It was Kris’s birthday and there were a number of people that showed up to help him celebrate.

IMG_4620

IMG_4624

IMG_4616

FRIDAY

Our 5th Anniversary was Saturday so we made dinner plans for Hugo’s in Portland, our favorite restaurant. Even though we hadn’t been there in a few years, we were recognized and welcomed by all the staff. We were treated like Royalty and even invited back to meet the chef/owner, Rob Evans. What a treat! This is why we love Hugo’s. The service and friendliness of the staff is unparalleled. Rob is also a well renowned chef in New England and the food is not only delicious but a work of art.

SATURDAY

The reason for dinner reservations the evening before our anniversary was so we could attend the free LL Bean Concert featuring Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, one of our favorite bands.

We were joined by my cycling friend and spin instructor, Julie, and her husband Paul.

We packed a picnic dinner with some wine too.

Earlier that day, Don and I managed to get out on the bikes for a nice casual 20 mile bike ride. This was Don’s first ride on his new bike and I think it’s going to serve him well. He seemed to ride very well and I think part of that has to do with the gear ratio offered by the compact crank, and he attributes a lot of the good ride to his 18-20 pounds lost this spring. It was probably a bit of both.

On the way home I could resist taking a photo of some of the largest clematis I have ever seen:

On the way home there was a cool breeze coming off the water and you could see the fog over Casco Bay and we expected it to push in but it never did.

SUNDAY

Today I am finally feeling back to myself. To the extent it was time for a decent bike ride. My goal was repeats over Munjoy Hill but because Julie and Paul wanted to go for a ride we decided on a different sort of ride and made it a 35 mile ride starting at 6am. I know that’s early but it’s also so nice to be back early and have the rest of your day for other things. So for me that’s cleaning the bike, catching up on the blog, and attending a birthday BBQ later today.

MONDAY

I’ll be skipping the Monday Night group ride as Don and I have tickets to see Jose Gonzalez at The Stone Church in Newmarket, NH. Again, one of our favorites and I’m looking forward to the show.

I’ll be back with more postings soon! Hopefully I’ll have some photos from the Jose Gonzalez show!

2 responses to “Weekend Recap

  1. So, did you buy the bike?

  2. Nope, I didn’t by the bike. But that doesn’t mean I won’t one day soon. It’s my dream bike and it’s good to have dreams!

Leave a Reply

