A Recipe for Food on the Bike

My husband recently forwarded this article to me from the NY Times regarding training tips from Christian Vande Velde. While the article was informative with a few good tips, what I liked most was Allen Lim‘s recipe for sushi rice bars:

3 cups medium-grain Calrose or sushi rice, cooked

6 eggs

Soy sauce or Bragg Liquid Aminos (a soybean-based liquid protein concentrate)

A handful of prosciutto or cooked bacon

Salt

Balsamic vinegar

Scramble the eggs with the soy sauce or the Braggs Aminos. (“The guys like the flavor of the Braggs better than the soy,” Mr. Lim said.) Add the prosciutto or bacon. Pile the rice, eggs and pork into a 6-by-9-inch pan. Pour a small amount of balsamic vinegar and soy on top. Salt to taste. Mix and mash into the pan. Let sit for 20 minutes, then, using a silicone spatula (“anything else and the rice will stick,” Mr. Lim said) cut it into 1 1/2-inch squares. Wrap in foil. Yields about 24.

As a sweet alternative, use “a big jar of Nutella, a bunch of all-natural peanut butter and the same amount of rice,” Mr. Lim said.

I love sushi, and I love sushi rice so this sounds appealing to me. I’m very intrigued by the Nutella squares too. Love Nutella. So what do you think? Which, if either, sounds more appealing to you? Once I make them I’ll be sure to report back as to how they were.

One response to “A Recipe for Food on the Bike

  1. That sounds pretty disgusting.

    The body uses almost exclusively carbs during hard exercise, and most of your blood moves away from your digestive system and to your muscles. Because of this I would have thought it would be better to stick to more easily digestible, very carb-rich food while actually on the bike. So I’d leave out the eggs and bacon for a start – high protein / fatty foods should come after the exercise rather than during it.

    I’m trying to come up with my own energy bar for cycling – something with lots of flour (not necessarily from wheat), sugar, and bananas, but I’m not sure what else to put into it… peanut butter would be good if I could actually eat it without dying.

Leave a Reply

