Tire Selection

I’ve been riding the Michelin Pro Race 2 tires on my bike since it was built up in August 2007. Now, the newest version is out, and has been out for a while. They are the Michelin Pro Race 3‘s. (What else, right?) They are reported to have outstanding performance.

Since I don’t have a back up set of tires, and I’m going to be in need for some soon, we ordered a set of the Pro Race 3’s. I’m looking forward to trying them. I really love the Pro Race 2’s and have never had an issue, or even a flat, with them.

My husband decided to order a set of the Michelin Lithions at the same time. I talked him into these over the Krilions, because of better performance, though his major concern is puncture resistance.

On my Scattantee I used Serfas Seca-RS tires. I liked those very much as well.

So my question to you is: What tires do you use and why do you like them? Your reasons might vary from price, puncture resistance, performance, or availability. No matter what the reasons, I’d love to hear who uses what.

4 responses to “Tire Selection

  1. My Specialized Allez came with Specialized Mondo Pro tires. The rear got a bad gash after only 400 miles or so, and I replaced it with a Specialized All Condition Pro. It was good until it blew out while going downhill at over 35 mph on a very hot day — the tire shredded. I replaced it with a non-Specialized tire this time, a Vittoria Rubino Pro. It has more tread than either of the Specialized, but that doesn’t seem to affect its roll. On the front, I’m still running the original Mondo Pro. Good tire.

  2. I’ve heard of those blow outs but never experienced them, luckily. Vittoria Rubino seems like a good tire. Do you also rotate them as recommended by putting the front tire on the back when you have to replace the back one and put the new tire on the front for handling and control?

  3. Nope, don’t rotate. Since the rear tire wears faster, I’m more comfortable with a new tire on the rear.

  4. I’m a big fan of Vredestein Fortezas. These are great fast training tires. They’re very cut resistant. I’ve put probably 7500 miles on these (not the same pair) and have never (knock wood) had a puncture or a cut (and I routinely ride on dirt/gravel roads). They also have a higher max PSI than most clenchers, so if you want a sew-up like ride, these probably come closest…

Leave a Reply

