High-Fructose Corn Syrup Ad

I was watching a TV show with my husband Saturday evening when this commercial was aired:

My husband and I just turned and looked at each other in total disbelief.

We don’t eat anything with corn syrup, or high-fructose corn syrup, if we can possibly help it. We read labels and if there is anything with that in it, we don’t by it. And it’s usually easy to spot – they tend to be listed in the top portion of the ingredients list but not always.

So in my search of this commercial for my posting, I also found this one:

I was amazed! Even more commercials. OMG!

They claim it’s “okay in moderation”. But it’s in EVERYTHING. Not to mention in many fruit drinks it’s one of the top ingredients, which means it’s loaded with it. Not my idea of moderation.

I’m not a doctor, or a nutritionist, but I can tell you that HFCS is a major component to diabetes and obesity. For some people it can slow down their metabolism. For others it causes your blood sugar to spike, causing a surge of insulin, which in turn causes the body to store fat.

Here’s a short list of things we don’t buy any more because of this ingredient:

Ice Cream (we only buy Turkey Hill All Natural or Bryers All Natural because it doesn’t contain HFCS), most ketchup brands (we’ll buy an organic brand that doesn’t contain it), Bread and Butter Pickles (yes, pickles), relish, barbecue sauce (I make my own now with above mentioned organic ketchup), baked beans, most if not all juices, sodas, and sports drinks, cereals, jams/jellies, most spaghetti sauce brands, hot dogs, mayonnaise, some peanut butters, instant oatmeal, chocolate syrup (for chocolate milk or ice cream), pancake syrup (not the genuine maple syrup), gravy, bread (yes, even bread), just to name a few.

Now, if you don’t believe me, go through your cupboards and look at many of the products you have now, that you normally eat, and see how many items contain corn syrup, or high-fructose corn syrup. Then tell me it’s “all in moderation”.

If you only have a few of these products that contain HFCS, or just corn syrup, congratulations. If you have several, start reading labels at the grocery store and don’t buy these products if you can help it in an effort to limit your HFCS intake to a more moderate level. There are other “cleaner” products out there that are good alternatives to the products you normally buy with HFCS.

Let’s hope someone doesn’t come out with an ad for partially-hydrogenated oils.

3 responses to “High-Fructose Corn Syrup Ad

  1. hi ,firstly thanks for great information well its right that as far we are only consumers so only believe in buying stuffs but to be careful its our responsibilities to take care our selves ..but as i read after ur blog that HFCS 42 is not worst as like otheres but still ur info is best…thanks

  2. holy cow–your list of foods are about 90% of my diet. I knew I had questionable eating habits but now I think there’s no hope for me!

  3. See! Exactly my point. It’s in so many things so unless you are really reading labels it’s very difficult to take this ingredient in moderation.

Leave a Reply

