Managing Stress Through Cycling

Today was a very stressful day at work. Friday was the same. I was a little upset with myself for not managing my stress levels a little bit better at the office.

When I returned home, I really didn’t want to get on the bike. I just wanted to chill out and relax. Perhaps even indulge in a glass of wine…. or three.

However, I knew that if I didn’t force myself to get on the bike then I’d miss my opportunity for a longer workout. I take an Access class on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Since I arrive home an hour later than normal I choose to make those be my easy 1-hour rides.

My goal was just to manage an hour. I started to feel all the energy from the stress motivating me to work hard. (It might have had something to do with the spin music I had made for a friend last year, too.)

So I went with it – I rode the wave. My planned pathetic 1-hour workout turned into a darn nice 90-minute workout.

I’ve always been a little nuts this way. When I was in high school and I was stressed or upset, I would clean the house.  My sister managed her stress by playing her flute. I needed a more physical release.

Cycling has been good for me in that regard. It’s a great way to release stress.

I heard from a guy in Iowa today who called cycling his “outlet and inner harmony”. Amen!

I wonder how many of you are using cycling to manage your stress?

One response to “Managing Stress Through Cycling

  1. I can totally relate – I have always found that a good workout is the best way to release a little stress. In fact it is not easy for me to sit still so movement has always been a form of meditation for me.

Leave a Reply

