Giving up Chocolate

If you read my blog on a regular basis you know I have recently given up coffee.

I am here to tell you, that’s nothing compared to giving up chocolate!

In an attempt to lose some weight I am giving up chocolate. In my office it’s everywhere! So you can imagine how hard it is.

More than that, chocolate is a habit. I grab it all too often when I’m bored, need a snack, or stressed. It’s just become a bad habit with me, even though it seems so satisfying to eat.

So I’m giving it up, which seems next to impossible.

I’m doing okay. I can’t say I make it all day without a piece but at least I’m eating a lot less of it. That’s got to count for something, right?

Eventually I hope it will be banished from my day completely.

I’m trying to eat more fruit in its place. Even though the fruit tastes good, I still find myself craving chocolate after the fruit. It’s not a good substitute. Well, it is a good substitute, but one that doesn’t satisfy like chocolate.

The other problem with chocolate is that the more I eat, the more I want. It’s a vicious cycle.

I shudder to think of the amount of empty calories I would normally consume in chocolate on any given day. My hope is that with this slight change it will make a big difference in my weight. I sincerely hope it does. Otherwise going without is going to seem so pointless.

2 responses to “Giving up Chocolate

  1. Coffee and chocolate? What’s next, breathing?!

  2. One might think drinking wine or martinis might be the next to go, but I say nay! I won’t give up THOSE up just yet!

Leave a Reply

