What Doesn’t Kill Us Makes Us Stronger

Or so the phrase goes, or something similar.

My hill repeats paid off today. Not that I’m feeling like superwoman on the bike this quickly, but I think the hill repeats were a good opener for tonight’s ride.

Everyone was lined up on the sidewalk and ready to go when I arrived at the shop. Usually they are more casually scattered, chatting, and waiting for the ride. It was also a nice day and everyone was feeling good about riding in the sun.

I found some good wheels and was able to hold on very well through the ride. I even held my own going up the first challenging hill. In fact everyone seemed to be slowing up where I was starting to hit it hard. (A tip from Steph.) Then I settled in for the remainder of the climb. I was surprised that I wasn’t watching everyone blow past me. And when I got to the top I started recovering, grabbed a couple wheels and just kept going. Man that felt good.

Now, before you think I’m this hill climbing superstar, please know I’m not. I probably won’t ever be. I’m just working harder at climbing. I’ll still get my butt kicked on the climbs, especially if they are long and/or steep. And the local group rides are nothing compared to what I’m going to see in a real race.

Some of the race team ladies were on the ride and it was our plan to pull back from the ride at a certain point and all ride together, which we did. We all had a blast working hard, taking pulls, and working on our climbing techniques. We were even feeling a little spunky on the last part of our ride and blew past a few stragglers from the ride we started out with. (We took a shorter route that brought us back to the orginal route.)

I’m happy to have survived the hill repeats and still have the legs for tonight’s ride. It will be a recovery day tomorrow with a good effort Saturday, but not too strenuous so I’ll have the energy for Sunday’s crit.

On a side note, I was watching CSI NY tonight after the ride and spotted a Masi. The eyes are trained. They even put this info about it on their website: http://www.masibikes.com/default.php?link=http%3A%2F%2Fcyclecollection.blogspot.com%2F2009%2F04%2Fmasi-on-csi-new-york.html

Leave a Reply

