Turtle Pond Race Recap

What’s worse than DFL? DNF.

I went to the Turtle Pond circuit race today. My goal was to hang on, have fun and learn.

IMG_9949

There was talk of launching the Pro1/2’s with the Cat 3/4’s but the decided not to do that after all.

We hit the road at 1:25pm. The first climb up Oak Hill Road was neutral, something I was very thankful for.

I managed to hold on throughout the first 8 miles of the 11+ mile course. It was the short steep pitch that I was dropped on, which I figured would happen.

I chased but most of the front group was gone.

I managed to hook up with a few CVC/Subaru team members and a few other gals. They got a little organized and started working together. I assured some of the CVC gals that I wouldn’t break them up (it looked like they wanted to remain together) so I hung out behind them. They worked their way to the front of our 7 man group and I offered to take pulls if they wanted. They were happy for the help and the 7 of us ended up taking pulls.

And then it happened. The thing that happens often when I ride hard, in particular during hilly routes: the cramps started to set in. Mostly in the inside of my thighs.

I was thoroughly disappointed. I would have finished the ride if it wasn’t for that.

I even got off the bike during the race and stretched, to no avail. On the next time they were still there, ready to cramp hard. I even had to embarrassingly walk up the steep climb for fear of a cramp setting in and not being able to get off the bike.

turtle-pond1

I didn’t eat much before the ride and even though I was drinking a lot, it wasn’t enough.

The weather was brutally hot in the afternoon. When we were done and heading home at 4pm the outside temperature gauge on the car, which is pretty accurate, read 90 degrees! Everyone was complaining about how hot it was. Out of 45+ riders, less than 30 finished the race. Many of the girls abandoned due to stomach cramps, so I guess I wasn’t alone.

Even though I didn’t finish, my teammate Meg had a very successful day and finished 8th and Julie finished 14th!

Shannon and I were both DNF and Teresa managed to finish, even after a crash going uphill. Luckily it wasn’t a serious crash and she nor her bike suffered much damage. Teresa even told my husband that she was going to soft pedal and wait for me to catch up but he told her not to bother. He knows all too well that I could be suffering in a way that would not allow me to go on.

In looking at the board at the end of the race I noticed where some of the CVC gals I was riding with finished and they were in the 20 mark. That’s probably where I would have been had I been able to finish. I would have been very happy with that.

Out of 50 starters, less than 30 finished. There were many stories of muscle and stomach cramps in addition to the effects of heat exhaustion. I’m glad to have warmer weather but this was a little much!

It was a good outing and I think everyone is fired up about the next big event: Lake Sunapee Road Race on May 16th.

IMG_9954

4 responses to “Turtle Pond Race Recap

  1. CVCer here.
    You did an awesome job. It’s about having fun too. And working together everyone achieves more (until the finish line anyway!)
    This is my first year racing and there is so much to learn. (I have only been riding less than 2 year)
    It was a tough day. My 12 year old raced in the morning….tough course.
    My two teen jrs raced with us…only one was able to finish.
    Hope we see you on other races!

  2. Hey Laura,

    Thanks for commenting! Yeah, for my first race ever I feel pretty good about it, despite the nerves before and the cramps during. You also did a great job. It was great working with you and your teammates. My goal was to finish and even though that didn’t happen, I still had the time of my life!

    Your kids were awesome! It’s so great to see young people getting into this sport along with us old people. Makes us feel young!

    I’ll be a Sunapee and hope to see you then!

  3. That’s no easy circuit to cut your teeth on. Add the weather and it was damn tough! Good effort and thanks for cheering!

  4. Good for you for getting out and racing! I’m still trying to just get a century under my belt. Good luck at Sunapee!

Leave a Reply

