Making an Adjustment

When I was out on a ride with a local group Thursday night I had a shifting problem. I could not shift into my large chain ring. I had to resort to reaching down and pulling on the cable that runs from the shifter to the derailieur.

Upon my return home I realized the cable was pretty loose and no doubt from me pulling on it. So I set out tightening it on my own and am happy to report I was able to fix it. During my subsequent rides it shifted flawlessly.

This was a simple fix. I would have normally taken the bike into the LBS for this kind of repair but after taking a bike maintenance class I was confident in my abilities to make this adjustment on my own. Yippee!

One response to “Making an Adjustment

  1. That seems like a great service that Erik offers…wish someone around here offered similar classes…I’m one of those who is afraid to do much beyond lubing the chain or fiddling with saddle heights and pedals. If it’s mechanical and I touch it…it usually gets worse or breaks!

Leave a Reply

