Newton’s First Law of Motion

It states: An object at rest tends to stay at rest and an object in motion tends to stay in motion with the same speed and in the same direction unless acted upon by an unbalanced force.

With all the rain we’ve had lately I have been that object at rest. Occasionally I got in motion but I certainly didn’t stay that way. Did I just disprove Newton’s theory? No because even when I could have gotten out on the bike it seemed like a very daunting process. So I didn’t and managed to stay at rest.

I’m hopeful with a turn in the weather and a bit of sun that I’ll become more in motion and stay that way.

Tonight I was on the PVC Monday night ride (MNR) and it truly felt good. It wasn’t a complete hammer fest but a hard enough effort to feel like I was getting some decent exercise. My heart rate managed to push up to an uncomfortable level on a few climbs. It’s not a really hilly route but there are a couple short climbs.

As is the case with many group rides such as this, when I got home I thought to myself, “Gosh that felt good. I feel good. I should do more of this.”

So after tomorrow (because we have dinner plans with friends), I’m going to do my best to prove Newton’s theory of motion, by staying in motion.

3 responses to “Newton’s First Law of Motion

  1. It can be so frustrating when the weather interrupts an otherwise great season of rides. Unfortunately, I just came off of an 8 day hiatus. Yikes.

    The northeast rains this year have been a real wrench in the spokes.

  2. Get on that bike! I do understand. On the other side of the country it is hotter than heck (Tucson, Az) and the monsoon rains come in the late afternoon. So, my only hope is to get up at 4am to be out by 5 so I can be home before the heat hits at 9am! Not a big motivator.

  3. I just noticed the favorite quote you have posted. I love it!

Leave a Reply

