iPhone

I upgraded my phone about two months ago to the iPhone. I’ve loved the iPhone ever since they came out and I was so happy to finally have one.

Previous to my iPhone upgrade I was using a Palm Treo. It was really great for Twittering and texting, which made me think that I might want a Blackberry instead when it was time to upgrade. But alas, I went with the iPhone as originally planned.

My thoughtful husband had purchased an iTouch for me to use for a while to see if I’d like using it enough to go with the iPhone. I must say it was fun to use and pretty user friendly. For those of you who own an iPhone or iTouch, you can attest to how easy they are to use. Truly, if I can figure it out, anyone can!

And all the APPS! My goodness, there are a ton. I’m not much of a gamer so I don’t download those, with the exception of cribbage, and I must say I don’t play that much either.

I did download the upgraded version of MapMyRide for cycling. It’s taken a while to get used to using it. I’ve found it works really well if I’m on a solo ride with not many stops. Though I have had an issue on some rides where the route is not picked up on the GPS system so that’s thrown the calculations off a bit.

My next application will be to find the perfect altimeter function for cycling as well. Not that there’s much climbing in my area, but there are places where I cycle that I would indeed like to see the profile and see how much climbing I actually did.

The only drawback is that it’s rather hard to answer the phone on the bike, unlike my old flip phone. I know, I shouldn’t be answering the phone on the bike. Still, it happens. So the iPhone thought of that too, and created headphones where you can answer the phone and speak normally by using a little button on the cord, which is also the microphone. This “button” also controls the volume for the iPod function of the phone. I must say it’s hard to use with lobster gloves this time of year with it due to its small size, but any other time of year it’s easy – the music will simply stop playing and you’ll hear the phone ring; then push the “button” on the headphones and you are instantly taking to your caller. I must say, the first time I used it, it worked really slick. I’m not sure what they did with the microphone but the person on the other end of the call couldn’t even tell I’m on the bike by detecting wind noise while I’m traveling.

These ear buds have also come in handy on several occasions when I’ve needed to be on the phone and working in the kitchen preparing dinner. No more placing the phone in the crook of your neck, only to have it fall out and drop on the floor.

I love my iPhone. I’m so glad I made the upgrade. It was SO worth it!

2 responses to “iPhone

  1. I love my Speedplays!
    Happy New Year…enjoy your iPhone!

  2. Hi Dana! You might be interested in my review of an iPhone remote. It won’t help with answering the phone, but it’s quite handy for music.

    Let me know if you find a good alimeter app for the iPhone (or by uploading a track to a web site for that matter). I’ve tried two or three and found a lot of variability in the elevation numbers. I can’t really trust any of them.

Leave a Reply

