Spring Riding

How does life get to be so busy that I just can’t find the time to blog?

Fortunately my busy life has included some incredible outdoor riding in some unseasonably warm spring temperatures.

Normal temperatures for Maine this time of year is in the 40-degree range. Lately many days have been in the mid 50’s. We even had several days this past week in the 60’s.

Several Portland Velo Club women joined me on rides this week. We even joined another women’s ride Wednesday for a total of 17 riders that night.

This has been a long drought of snow. I think our last significant snow storm was in December or January. But it’s been fine by me because I’ve been able to be outside biking a fair bit this winter. Now the weather has been unseasonably warm, driving more of us out on our bikes.

Today I managed to get out for an early morning group ride with the PVC Women followed by 90-minutes of yoga. I left the house at 6:30 am and managed to return at noon. Two things I love to do but took up half my day. Now, that doesn’t mean that it always take up half my day, it just worked out that way.

The weather is turning cooler next week but with Daylight Savings Time I’ll still be able to be out on the road after work for some training rides as long as we don’t see any snow.

2 responses to “Spring Riding

  1. I just spent sometime viewing your blog. Biking seems to be a popular subject on the web but its great to see a fellow Maine woman getting the job done. Thanks for all the info. I’ve just started my journey in giving up our car (well part time anyway) and commuting with the kids.
    I’ve been looking at cargo box bikes as an alternative to trailering the kiddos. Have you tried one? Do you know anyone who has?

    Happy Spring and Happy Riding!

    • I have not tried one of the cargo boxes, though they look very useful. Let me know how it goes. Would love to hear how you like it!

      Good luck with the commuting. It can be a challenge but one definitely worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

