More to Racing Than Just Winning

The Scarborough Industrial Park Spring Crit Series began today.

This year they added a women’s race and combined them with beginners to get them to try criterium racing.

The women’s race started at 7:30, which was a new addition this year. That meant that my warm-up ride to the event needed to start pretty early, between 6 and 6:15 am. I was thankful that the temperature was in the low 50’s when I started off and was predicted to reach 70 degrees today. Odd for so early in April but happily so. Last year it was very cold and I remember going to watch the previous year and it was just as cold.

Unfortunately there were only a few of us on the line for the first race. However, it’s Easter Sunday so many people had family obligations I’m sure.

IMG_0430
The start of the Women’s/Beginner race.

I was happy that another PVC member joined me for the race.

IMG_0443
Me and a teammate, Elizabeth Ehrenfeld.

I stayed out of the wind and on a wheel the entire race but couldn’t match the acceleration in the end and finished, unbelievably, DFL. Sheesh!

Then I hit the start line for the B-race.

IMG_0504

I managed to hang on for 6 of the 12 laps. I almost got dropped on the 4th or 5th lap and managed to get back onto the back of the group. Then the bell rang for a preme lap and I got dropped. I wasn’t surprised and I just sat up and pulled out.

All things considered I feel pretty good about how I performed. Sure I finished last in af the women’s race. Sure I pulled out of the B-race 1/2 way through after being dropped. Still, I was there and rode some of my best riding. I cornered better than I have ever cornered. When I was getting gapped in the women’s race on the corners I assessed why that was and made adjustments. I was focused and relaxed.

There is more to racing than just winning.

3 responses to “More to Racing Than Just Winning

  1. I had heard that the crit series was starting sunday but I didn’t believe they would start on easter sunday. shows what I know. Of course I couldn’t make it anyway because of family obligations.

    good on ya for getting out there. hopefully I can make it this Sunday. what time does the men’s A race start?

    • A-race goes off around 9am, right after the B-race, which usually ends before 9. If it ends earlier then the A-race will start then. Of course you’ll be there warming up so you won’t miss it. 😉 I actually thought about you when seeing all the Bikeman kit surrounding me in the B-race. See you next week!

  2. HI Dana:
    Good effort on the first event of the year. There are lots more Sundays (and Saturdays) to come!

Leave a Reply

